The European Union's executive will sue Poland, Hungary and the Czech Republic in the bloc's top court for their refusal to host asylum-seekers, two EU sources said on Wednesday.

The European Commission will announce the decision on Thursday, the sources said, stepping up a legal case it opened against the three last summer.

The countries have declined to shelter asylum-seekers despite an overall drop in arrivals due to tighter borders and projects beyond the EU's frontiers to discourage migration to Europe.

They say the mainly-Muslim refugees have no place in their homogeneous, predominantly Christian societies and cite security concerns given deadly attacks by Islamist militants in Europe.

Read the complete original version of this item...