Dutch ministers have agreed a compromise deal about how to cope with failed refugees who cannot or are unable to leave the country, RTL news reports on Wednesday.

In essence, the agreement means the five big cities of Amsterdam, Rotterdam, Utrecht, The Hague and Eindhoven will be able to offer emergency accommodation for a short period, but that all other cities must stop doing so.

Refugees who have failed to win formal refugee status will be able to spend a few weeks at the shelters, which will offer basic bed and board, but must then report to a deportation centre to prepare for their return.

Read the complete original version of this item...